Loading Animation

2018 Grace Abbott Book Prize - Nominations

Grace Abbott Book Prize - 2018

The Society for the History of Children and Youth (SHCY) is pleased to call for nominations for the best book in English on the history of children, childhood, or youth (broadly construed) published in the year 2018.  

The award consists of a plaque and a check for $500.  The winner will be announced during the Spring of 2019, and acknowledged at the SHCY’s biennial international conference in Sydney in late June.

Nominations are invited from publishers, editors, and scholars, and self-nominations by authors. Current members of the SHCY award committee, the executive committee, and officers of the society are ineligible. 

Nominations must be postmarked by January 14, 2019. Send a physical copy of the book via post to each of three award committee members:



Dr. Laurence Brockliss (Chair)
85 Whitecross,
Oxon OX13 6BS
United Kingdom

Dr. Richard Ivan Jobs
Department of History
Pacific University
2043 College Avenue
Forest Grove, OR 97116
United States of America

Dr. Heather Montgomery
15 Oatlands Road
Oxford, OX2 0EU
United Kingdom