Loading Animation

2019 Grace Abbott Book Prize – Call for Nominations

The Society for the History of Children and Youth (SHCY) is pleased to call for nominations for the best book published in English on the history of children, childhood, or youth (broadly construed) published in 2019. The winner will be announced in mid-summer 2020.


Nominations are invited from publishers, editors, and scholars, and self-nominations by authors. Current members of the SHCY award committee, the executive committee, and officers of the society are ineligible. Submissions are welcome now and must be postmarked by January 15, 2020.

Send a physical copy of the book via post to each of the book award committee members at the following addresses.  Queries should be directed to Stephanie Olsen (committee chair) at stephanie.olsen@mcgill.ca


Tampere University

Dr. Stephanie Olsen 

FI-33014 Tampere



Dr. Shurlee Swain

 2/4 Korroit Place, Geelong

Victoria, Australia, 3220.


Professor Nicholas Syrett

WGSS Department, University of Kansas

318 Blake Hall

1541 Lilac Lane

Lawrence, KS