Loading Animation

SHCY Seeks Nominations for the 2023 Grace Abbott Prize

The Society for the History of Children and Youth (SHCY) is pleased to call for nominations for the best book in English on the history of children, childhood, or youth (broadly construed) published in 2023

Submissions are welcome now and must be mailed to the committee members by February 28, 2024.


If you have questions please contact Friederike.Kind-Kovacs AT mailbox.tu-dresden.de with "Grace Abbott Prize" in the subject line.  

Nominations are invited from publishers, editors, and scholars, and self-nominations by authors. Current members of the SHCY award committee and SHCY President and Vice President are ineligible. 

The winner will be announced in June 2024.


2024 Grace Abbott Prize Committee members:

Friederike Kind-Kovacs, Chair

Senior Researcher

Hannah Arendt Institute for Totalitarianism Studies

Tillich-Bau, Helmholtzstraße 6, 
01069 Dresden


Janet Borland

Assistant Professor

Department of History

International Christian University

ERB-343, 3-10-2 Osawa, Mitaka
Tokyo, 181-8585


Lara Saguisag

Associate Professor

Department of Teaching and Learning

Steinhardt School

New York University

239 Greene St, 6th Floor

New York, NY, 10003